01 Sep

  • By Ashrae SL Chapter
  • In News
  • Comments Off

Founder of SL Chapter 171


Mr. Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe was the leading ASHRAE member who actively involved in the formation of ASHRAE Sri Lankan Chapter 171. He is a consulting engineer on Air Conditioning by profession. Mr. Amarasinghe was a full member of ASHRAE USA since 1978.  


The first attempt was made by a few members to initiate was unsuccessful in 1990. Later in 2001 as a result of a communication made by Mr.Pandu Amarasinghe with Mr.R.Tramboulsi Chairman Sub Region A, Region at Large from Lebanon took initial steps in formation of ASHRAE SRI LANKAN CHAPTER. Mr.R.Tramboulsi made a visit to Sri Lanka to assess the possibilities of forming Sri Lankan Chapter and the meeting held with Sri Lankan professionals was successful.On 18th October 2001 at a meeting held at Professional Association in Colombo, ASHRAE SRILANKAN CHAPTER wasformed.  

Following office bearers were elected unanimously. 

President Mr.YaseenMarikkar, President elect Mr.J.O.Yatawara. Vice Presidents Mr.S.P.Franklin Silva,Mr.WijithaPerera,Mr.Pandu Amarasinghe and Mr.Wasantha Kumara, Honourary Secretary Mr. Chandana Dalugoda andTreasurer Mr.NihalNanayakkara.Enrolment of new members was taken place at this inauguration meeting.

Official Chartering Ceremony. 

With participation of ASHRAE Society President Mr. Bill Coad, the first ASHRAE SRILANKAN CHAPTER 171 session was held ceremonially at Colombo Hilton on 5th February 2002. Few Sri Lankan Traditional cultural events were taken place at this ceremony. The ASHRAE Sri Lankan Chapter Podium Banner was handed over as a symbol to the Chapter President on this day.